Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Different language teaching methods

In a globalized society, mastering foreign languages is important to succeed economically and socially. Therefore, language teaching has become an academic topic highly focused on, and subjected to many studies and research highlighting diverse paradigms (cognitive, cultural, statistics, etc.). Ideological debates are intense and often heated. Since the end of World War II, several patterns have confronted and succeeded one another. To make it simpler, those methods can be classified in three categories:

  • grammar-translation
  • humanist
  • communicative (method applied at the AF de Nice)

The grammar-translation method

This method is classic and traditionally used for teaching languages such as Latin or Greek. The focus is set on translation (from and to the native language), grammar and vocabulary. Speaking and comprehension skills are set to the side. Explanations are often given in the student’s native language.

This method is still used in many countries, more particularly developing countries, as it is adequate in classrooms with several dozen students and teachers who do not always have the sufficient proficiency to teach the language in question.

If your language textbook’s cover mentions how many words you will learn,

If you regularly ask your teacher to translate an extract of a text for you, or why a given tense is used rather than another in a particular sentence,

If your teacher hogs more than 50% of the speaking time in the class,

… then you are learning a language based on the grammar-translation method.

One of the main problems of the grammar-translation method is that it does not take into account two key elements in the learning process: interest and motivation. However, for students who are strongly determined and good at studying on their own, it can allow them to quickly get good results on written tests. This is why many teachers, who are trained in different methods, do not understand when they see in their classrooms students who have been assessed a B1/B2 proficiency level after taking certified language tests but who are not able to express themselves when speaking.

Note: the grammar-translation method has developed in sub-categories:

  • The direct approach: a lesser use of the native language; pronunciation is taught before the language itself. It is more particularly the method Berlitz schools rely on.
  • The audio-lingual approach: assimilation of grammatical structures. This method is used by the army (influence of SKINNER and PAVLOV behavioral approach).
  • The cognitive approach: grammatical reasoning based on the use of the language in context.

The humanist method

This method, developed by James ASHER, is based on the idea that we are all naturally capable of learning languages since we can speak at least one language. The goal is to reproduce the way the native language has been taught. This method relies on the following:

  • Input is more important than output. Therefore, one needs to be in contact with the language taught as much as possible, just like a baby who hears his parents talking and cannot yet answer them. This led to the subliminal approach in which the learner listens to the studied language while he sleeps.
  • It is important to maintain a pleasant learning environment  (classes with music, outdoors…)
  • No use of the native language at all.
  • No exam.

This method, which was very popular in the 70s, is still frequently used by young learners.

© Plantu

© Mike Flanagan

Considering the large amount of students in the classroom, only a grammar-translation approach can be applied to language teaching.

For intensive courses taught to willing and motivated adults, the communicative approach (and its action-oriented transformation) is the most efficient because that is what it has been created for.

Jean-Pierre CUQ

President of the International Federation of Teachers of French

The communicative method (used at the AF de Nice)

This method is the current standard approach of language teaching. It is more particularly used by the British Councils, Goethe Institutes, Cervantes Institutes, Galileo Centers… and the network of Alliances françaises. The key elements of the communicative approach are:

Students should not be scared of making mistakes. They have to be invited to communicate as much as possible. Meaning is more important than perfect grammar.

  • Using the language is more important than studying it.
  • Understanding comes from classroom interactions in the studied language. Communication between students is essential.
  • Teachers provide students with clues to understand (without translating).
  • Using the language outside of the classroom must be supported (shopping, playing sports, going out with students).
  • Language patterns must not be studied on their own (no exercise based on pure grammar)

The Alliance Française de Nice has taken on a communicative approach, which means that we are putting communication first, in the spoken or written language. Our method is also “action-oriented” as learners are working on concrete and genuine goals, directly relevant with the daily life, according to their proficiency level: shopping, organizing a visit, writing an email, giving an opinion, participating in a conversation or a debate, etc.

All our courses, with or without textbooks, are based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CECRL). Consequently the goals set are compliant with the proficiency levels defined by the framework.

Goals are both practical and language-oriented. Our classes are balanced and diversified, and you will study grammar patterns and vocabulary relevant to the task in question. Classes are conducted in French: students are pushed to “discover” the grammatical rule on their own, to understand the meaning of words (no translation) through examples, and context.

Our classes are multicultural, with students from all nationalities. 90 different nationalities have entered the Alliance Française de Nice. Therefore, the only shared language that can be used in class, to promote language immersion, is French.

In respect of the philosophy of the Alliances françaises network around the world, you will also be immersed in French and Francophone cultures, as well as in the local culture of our beautiful region.

Themes studied in class illustrate the French contemporary society. Moreover, thanks to our event schedule, our conversation club, our movie club, our Resource Center, you will have several opportunities to practice what is learnt in class and to discover or improve your knowledge about these cultures.

Sylvie PONS

Educational Advisor

s.pons@af-nice.fr

the 5 functional categories in the communicative approach

Personal
(feelings)

Interpersonal
(social and professional relations)

Directive
(influence others)

Referential
(tell information)

Imaginative
(artistic and beauty expression)

the PPP Rule

(used by the teacher to work on the 5 functional categories)

Presentation

Practice

Production

Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Les différentes méthodes d’enseignement des langues

Dans une société mondialisée, la maîtrise de langues étrangères est un important facteur de réussite économique et sociale. L’enseignement des langues est ainsi devenu une discipline académique particulièrement regardée, objet de nombreuses études et recherches mettant en avant des paradigmes variés (cognitifs, culturels, statistiques etc.). Les débats doctrinaux sont vifs et souvent passionnés. Depuis la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale, plusieurs modèles se sont ainsi affrontés et succédés. De façon simplifiée, ces méthodes peuvent être regroupées en trois catégories :

  • grammaire traduction
  • humaniste
  • communicative (méthodologie suivie à l’AF de Nice)

Méthode grammaire traduction (grammar translation)

Cette méthode est celle classique, traditionnellement utilisée pour l’enseignement de langues telles le latin ou le grec. L’accent est ici placé sur la traduction (versions et thèmes), la grammaire et le vocabulaire. Expression et compréhension orales sont mises au second plan. Les explications sont souvent faites dans la langue maternelle de l’apprenant.

Cette méthode est encore utilisée dans de nombreux pays, notamment ceux en voie de développement, car elle convient à des salles de cours contenant plusieurs dizaines d’apprenants ainsi qu’a des professeurs qui n’ont pas toujours le niveau suffisant pour enseigner dans la langue étudiée.

Si votre manuel de langue indique sur sa couverture le nombre de mots qu’il entend vous faire apprendre,

Si vous êtes habitués à demander à votre enseignant de traduire un passage pour vous, où à lui demander pourquoi un temps est utilisé plutôt qu’un autre dans une phrase déterminée,

Si votre professeur occupe plus de 50% du temps de parole d’une classe,

… vous êtes alors formés selon la méthode grammaire traduction.

L’un des principaux problèmes de la méthode grammaire traduction est qu’elle ne prête aucune attention à deux éléments clés de l’apprentissage : l’intérêt et la motivation. Cependant, pour des étudiants dotés d’une forte volonté et capacité de travail personnel, elle peut permettre d’obtenir assez rapidement de bons résultats à des tests de langues écrits. Ceci explique l’incompréhension d’un grand nombre d’enseignants formés à d’autres méthodes, voyant arriver dans leur classe des étudiants incapables de s’exprimer à l’oral mais ayant validé des niveaux B1/B2 lors de tests officiels de langues.

Note : la méthode grammaire traduction a évolué en sous branches :

  • méthode directe : moindre utilisation de la langue maternelle ; la phonétique est enseignée avant la langue elle-même. C’est notamment le modèle des écoles Berlitz.
  • méthode audio-linguistique : assimilation de matrices grammaticales. C’est aussi le modèle utilisé à l’armée (influence des théories comportementalistes de SKINNER et PAVLOV).
  • méthode cognitive :  déduction de règles grammaticales par des utilisations en contexte.

Méthode humaniste

Cette méthode, développée par James ASHER est basée sur l’idée que nous avons tous une capacité innée à apprendre les langues puisque nous sommes capables d’en parler au moins une. L’objectif est donc ici de reproduire la façon dont la langue maternelle fut apprise. Les bases de cette méthode sont :

  • l’Input est plus important que l’output. Il faut donc être le plus possible en situation de réception de la langue apprise, comme le bébé qui entend ses parents parler sans encore pourvoir répondre. Ceci à conduit à l’approche subliminale où la langue étudiée est écoutée pendant les moments de sommeil.
  • Il est important d’avoir une agréable atmosphère d’apprentissage (cours en musique, en plein air…)
  • Aucune utilisation de la langue maternelle.
  • Aucun examen.

Cette méthode, très populaire dans les années 70, est encore aujourd’hui fréquemment utilisée pour les jeunes apprenants.

© Plantu

© Mike Flanagan

Avec un tel effectif, seule une méthode grammaire traduction est possible pour un enseignement de langue.

Pour des cours intensifs donnés à des adultes volontaires et motivés, la méthode communicative (et son avatar actionnel) est la plus efficace car elle correspond au meilleur paramétrage pour lequel elle a été conçue.

Jean-Pierre CUQ

Président de la Fédération internationale des professeurs de français

Méthode communicative (utilisée à l’AF de Nice)

Cette méthode est le standard actuel de l’enseignement des langues. C’est notamment celle utilisée par les British Councils, Goethe Institutes, Cervantes Institutes, Galileo Centers… et le réseau des Alliances françaises. Les éléments clés de la méthode communicative sont :

Les étudiants ne doivent pas avoir peur de faire des fautes. Il faut les inciter à communiquer le plus possible. Le sens est plus important que la perfection grammaticale.

  • Utiliser la langue est plus important qu’étudier la langue.
  • La compréhension nait des interactions en salle de classe et dans la langue étudiée. Les interactions entre apprenants sont fondamentales.
  • Le professeur donne aux apprenants des méthodes de compréhension (et non des traductions).
  • Il faut encourager l’utilisation de la langue en dehors de la salle de classe (faire les courses, du sport, des sorties avec les étudiants).
  • Les éléments de la langue ne doivent pas être traités seuls (pas d’exercice de grammaire pure).

L’Alliance française de Nice a adopté une approche communicative, ce qui signifie que nous privilégions les situations de communication, à l’oral comme à l’écrit. Notre méthode est également « actionnelle », dans le sens où les apprenants travaillent sur des objectifs concrets et  authentiques, proches de la vie quotidienne, en fonction de leur niveau : faire des courses, organiser une excursion, rédiger un mail, donner son point de vue, intervenir dans une conversation ou un débat, etc. 

Tous nos cours, avec ou sans manuel, suivent la progression du Cadre européen commun de référence pour les langues (CECRL). Les objectifs correspondent ainsi aux niveaux de compétences définis par le cadre. 

Les objectifs visés sont pratiques, mais aussi linguistiques. Nos cours sont équilibrés et variés et vous étudierez les points de grammaire et le vocabulaire en relation avec la tâche à réaliser. Les cours se déroulent tout en français : les étudiants sont encouragés à « découvrir » la règle grammaticale par eux-mêmes, à comprendre les mots (sans traduction) à travers des exemples, grâce au  contexte. 

Nos classes sont multiculturelles, avec des étudiants de toutes nationalités confondues. 90 nationalités différentes ont franchi la porte de l’Alliance française de Nice. Nous ne pouvons donc qu’utiliser le français comme langue commune en cours, dans un principe d’immersion. 

Fidèle à la philosophie du réseau des Alliances françaises à travers le monde, vous baignerez également dans les cultures française et francophone, sans oublier la culture locale de notre belle région. 

Les thèmes abordés en cours reflètent les réalités de la société contemporaine française. De plus, grâce à notre programme d’activités, notre club de conversation, notre cinéclub, notre centre de ressources, vous aurez de multiples occasions de mettre en pratique ce que vous aurez appris en cours et de découvrir ou d’approfondir vos connaissances sur ces cultures.

Sylvie PONS

Conseillère pédagogique

s.pons@af-nice.fr

les 5 catégories d’utilisation fonctionnel du langage selon la méthode communicative

Personnelle
(sentiments)

Inter-personnelle

(relations sociales, professionnelles)

Directive
(influencer les autres)

Référentielle
(rapporter des informations)

Imaginative
(expression artistique, de la beauté)

la Règle des 3P

(utilisée par l’enseignant pour travailler les 5
catégories fonctionnelles du langage)

Présentation

Pratique

Production